This tower is the only remaining gate from the original town wall. The Gothic tower was built in the first half of the 14th Century. In 1511-1513, it was extended upwards, and in 1753-1758 it was again remodelled and given the appearance which it retains to the present day. During this remodelling, a statue of the archangel Michael was placed on top of the 51m high tower.
The gate is named after the Church of Saint Michael which once stood nearby. The building houses a portcullis and wooden gates. The tower now houses a museum of museum of weapons and Medieval armaments. Visitors can enjoy a panoramic view of the old town from the top of the tower.
Go Diagram of Michalská ulica
Go Other objects of interest
Go Back to start